The Bowling-Jones-Russo Memorial Undergraduate Research Award

This honor is given each year to a freshman, sophomore, or junior student for outstanding research in any discipline and features a $1,000 prize applied to the winning student’s bursar account the subsequent fall semester.

The award is made in memory of members the IUPUI academic community who displayed, to the highest degree, the ideals of commitment to a discipline and to the concept of mentoring others on the path toward excellence. Michael Bowling and Christopher Jones were students seeking a second undergraduate degree in Biology. While enrolled at IUPUI they became attracted to the research work being conducted by Dr. Raymond Russo and joined his research team. While on a field trip they lost their lives in a tragic automobile accident. Several months later Dr. Russo fell ill with an affliction that would take his life a short time later. This award has been made possible by donations honoring the memory of these three dedicated individuals. It is fitting that the proceeds be used to reward the best examples of synergy in faculty and student interactions that result from disciplinary inquiry.

A student must be nominated by a faculty member, research mentor, department chair, or dean. There is no limit to the number of students nominated by each school. At the time of nomination the student must be a continuing student who has accumulated no more than 85 credit hours in the declared major.

Nomination material to be submitted:
  • Nomination letter not to exceed three pages, outlining the research and other relevant accomplishments of the nominee. The letter should clearly address the outstanding nature of the student’s work and should include a layman’s description of the student’s research. A complete CV for the student that includes research and/or creative activities (poster and/or oral presentations, publications, exhibits etc).
The deadline for submission of all materials is January 20, 2017. Nomination letters should be sent by email to Carolyn Key at with the subject line “CRL BJR Award”. Please contact Dr. Dominique M Galli at with any questions you may have.